Sarah Thursday Announces Her New Poetry Collection “Conversations with Gravel”

By Brian Dunlap

converstaions-cover-love-stones-squareLong Beach Poet Sarah Thursday announced Sunday that her newest full-length collection of poems, Conversations with Gravel, will be released early in October. As she said on Facebook, “This collection was 5 years in the making based on love, heartbreak, and coping with loss.” Conversations with Gravel is Thursday’s second full-length collection of poetry, after All the Tiny Anchors, which was published in 2014.

Donna Hilbert, Author of Gravity: New and Selected Poems, says of Conversations with Gravel, “The poems…do not spare our deep feelings or soften the hammer-blows to the heart of love gone wrong…Such poetry allows us to grieve and rejoice together, making the world a more hospitable, less fearsome place.”

Sarah Thursday is also the author of nine chapbooks, the first, The Perishing Hope of the Godless (1992) she made herself and continued with four more: An Offering of Wisdom and Sorrow (1993), Trying to Tell You Something (1995), Things Mean A Lot At The Time (1999), and Healing the Heart of Ophelia (2001). Her most recent chapbook 17 Poems Not About a Lover, was released in April.

Thursday is the founder and publisher Sadie Girl Press, a Long Beach based poetry press.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s