PUBLIC NOTEBOOK TO BOOK: AN INTERVIEW WITH WENDY C. ORTIZ

From: Women Who Submit

ortiz_2014_authorphoto-copy-1-620x825Saturday December 3, 2016 Wendy C. Ortiz will lead the 3rd installment in the WWS Fall Workshop Series: Public Notebook to Book. Ortiz is the author of two memoirs, Excavation(Future Tense Books, 2014) and Hollywood Notebook (Writ Large Press, 2015) and has her third book, Bruja, being release October 31, 2016 from Civil Coping Mechanisms.

Ortiz has used journals and public notebooks throughout her career. In fact, “Hollywood Notebook, a prose poem-ish memoir, and Bruja, a dreamoir, both began as public notebooks and eventually found their way to becoming print books,” and in her workshop, Ortiz will share strategies for keeping a notebook and how to shape it into a piece of writing intended for an audience.

But first, Ortiz, who has been a contest judge for Blue Mesa Review, and a reader for Hedgebrook and Poets & Writers California Writers Exchange, among others, shares her thoughts on confidence, submission, and community.

Women Who Submit: How have Notebooks been in important to your work?

Wendy C. Ortiz: I’ve been carrying notebooks all my life and still do, whether it’s a physical notebook meant for a specific subject or my phone’s Notes app. Notebooks and journals have always been a necessary part of my work.

WWS: When did you choose to take your writing seriously, and what or who helped you in that pursuit?

WCO: I’ve always chosen to take my writing seriously, since the first story I wrote in elementary school, to the zines I made as a teenager, to the journalism I wrote in my early twenties and everything since. A number of people have helped me in that pursuit–most of them teachers. I think of Eloise Klein Healy, David Ulin, and most recently, Jill Soloway. Eloise and David have been mentors to me in the last 15 years. Jill has most recently been a cheerleader of my work and has challenged me to expand what and how I write.

WWS: What new projects are you working on?

WCO: At the moment I’m trying to teach myself how to write short screenplays. My latest manuscript is poetry, and I’ve been sending it out to various contests recently, in itself a project. Read Rest of Article Here

Leave a Reply

